Ryan Zinke, Secretary of the Interior Washington, DC

May 3, 2017

Dear Secretary Zinke,

All of the signers of this letter are elected officials in the Katahdin region surrounding the Katahdin Woods and Waters National Monument that was designated on Aug. 24, 2016.

Some of us opposed the National Monument before it was created. Some of us supported it. And some of us took no public position before it was created.

However, now that the Monument has been created, all of us are united in our desire to see it continue and succeed. Although the Monument is less than a year old, already some businesses in the region have experienced an uptick in activity. Real estate sales have picked up. The communities have begun to heal from the divisiveness that existed during the debate about the Monument. Our communities now have hope again.

We understand that there are some who have talked of rescinding the designation of this Monument. We encourage you to reject that idea.

Instead we encourage you to do everything in your power to ensure that this Monument is a success. Our communities will thank you for that.

Sincerely,

Richard H. Schmidt III, Selectmen, Patten, Maine Kenneth Perkins, Selectmen, Patten, Maine Reginald Porter Sr., Selectmen, Patten, Maine Mark Scally, Chair, East Millinocket Board of Selectmen, East Millinocket, Maine Bruce Jones, Chair, Medway Board of Selectmen, Medway, Maine Dawn York, Chair, Medway School Board, Medway, Maine Jeff Jandreau, Vice-Chair, Medway Board of Selectmen, Medway, Maine Bruce Cox, Vice Chair, Medway School Board, Medway, Maine Jesse Dumais, Town Councilor, Millinocket, Maine Harold Gould, Selectman, Sherman, Maine Louis Pelletier, Town Councilor, Millinocket, Maine Barbara Hartford, Selectwoman, Medway, Maine Clint Linscott, Selectman, East Millinocket, Maine Gary McLeod, Selectman, East Millinocket, Maine Eugene C. Laporte, Medway School Board, Medway, Maine Steve Stanley, State Representative for the Katahdin region, Medway, Maine Michael Carpenter, State Senator for northern part of Katahdin region, Houlton, Maine James Dill, State Senator for southern part of Katahdin region, Old Town, Maine

Cc:

Sen. Susan Collins Sen. Angus King Rep. Chellie Pingree Rep. Bruce Poliquin Gov. Paul LePage