

3 Wade Street • Augusta, Maine 04330 • (207) 622-3101 • Fax: (207) 622-4343 • www.nrcm.org

May 6, 2016

President Barack Obama The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Obama,

We the undersigned respectfully ask you to give the nation another spectacular natural and cultural asset by creating a national monument in Maine's Katahdin region.

Maine is beautiful. You know this from your family's 2010 visit to Acadia, which is one of America's most visited national parks.

This year, 2016, is the 100<sup>th</sup> anniversary both of Acadia's founding and of the National Park Service. It is the perfect occasion for designating a new park unit in northern Maine, which contains the largest undeveloped tract of forest east of the Mississippi River.

The land, valued at \$60 million, would be <u>donated</u> by Maine-based Elliotsville Plantation, Inc., a nonprofit that would also raise a <u>\$40 million</u> endowment. These generous gifts would benefit all Americans.

Conservation philanthropy of this magnitude happens only a couple of times a century. Mr. President, please take advantage of this incredibly generous opportunity and make it happen in this last full year you are in office.

Public opinion surveys over years show consistent results: throughout our vast state, Mainers support the new monument/park by more than two to one—a political landslide by any accounting.

The area is significant to the indigenous Penobscot Nation. Henry David Thoreau paddled the East Branch and wrote about it in *The Maine Woods*, an American literary treasure. Theodore Roosevelt—the first president to create a national monument—visited the area when he was 19, and the experience inspired his lifelong conservation efforts.

These cultural distinctions alone qualify the area for designation.

But the site also boasts mountains, ponds, uncommon and iconic ecological features; habitat for moose, bear, and the federally listed threatened Canada lynx; and forests as far as the eye can see. It provides opportunities for hiking, paddling, biking, fishing, cross-country skiing, and wildlife watching.

We signers—all volunteers— are current or former directors or national advisory board members of the Natural Resources Council of Maine (NRCM), the state's largest conservation advocacy organization. In its 57-year history, NRCM has helped to protect Maine lands and waters, including the Allagash Wild and Scenic River and the Appalachian National Scenic Trail.

We are grateful for the national monuments you have already created. Now we urge you to enlarge your conservation legacy by granting to all Americans a spectacular new one in our great state.

Thank you.

Daniel Amory Portland, Maine

Stephen O. Andersen Barnard, Vermont

Christopher Ayres Pownal, Maine

Philip L. Bartlett II Gorham, Maine

Ellen Baum Bowdoinham. Maine

Dean Bennett, PhD Hallowell, Maine

James G. Blaine Northeast Harbor, Maine

Christopher A. Bond Cape Elizabeth, Maine

John H. Boomer Orr's Island, Maine Elisa Boxer

Scarborough, Maine

Deborah M. Burd Lewiston, Maine

Kim M. Caldwell Cumberland Foreside, Maine

Eileen D. Carey Bozeman, Montana

Tom Carr Harpswell, Maine

**Edmund Cervone Portland, Maine** 

Leonard W. Cotton Harpswell, Maine John's Island, South Carolina

Ronald B. Davis, PhD Orono, Maine

Deborah A. Deatrick South Freeport, Maine

**Thomas MacAdams Deford** Karen Herold Spruce Head, Maine Cumberland, Maine Victoria M. Devlin Henry R. Heyburn, Jr. South Freeport, Maine Brunswick, Maine Jane E. Eberle Barbarina Heyerdahl South Portland, Maine Montpelier, Vermont **Desmond Fitzgerald** William M. Houston, Jr. Camden, Maine Kingfield, Maine A. Myrick Freeman III Warren Kessler William D. Shipman Manchester, Maine **Professor of Economics Emeritus Bowdoin College** Robert Kimber Brunswick, Maine Temple, Maine **Marion Freeman** Dennis P. King Freeport, Maine Freeport, Maine John D. Gibson, III Brigitte L. Kingsbury Norridgewock, Maine Cape Elizabeth, Maine Maroulla S. Gleaton, MD **Eleanor Kinney** Palermo, Maine Bremen, Maine Gordon Glover Lincoln F. Ladd South Freeport, Maine Wayne, Maine Wing Goodale Norton H. Lamb, Jr. Rockport, Maine New Gloucester, Maine Lani Graham, MD Cindy Lang Tenants Harbor, Maine Portland, Maine Mary M. Grow George Lapointe Hallowell, Maine China, Maine Diane Guethlen Lynne Y. Lewis

New Gloucester, Maine

Bucksport, Maine

Monmouth, Maine

Hallowell. Maine

Ben Lund

Jon Lund

Paul Averill Liebow, MD FACEP

Rockwood, Maine

Jeanne Gulnick, PhD

Peaks Island, Maine

**Cheryl Harrington** 

Winthrop, Maine

Somerville, Massachusetts

**Patty Hager** 

Jane MacElree Ralph T. Perry Newtown Square, Pennsylvania Orr's Island, Maine Brooksville, Maine Jeff R. Pidot Susan H. MacKenzie, PhD Brunswick, Maine Waterville, Maine Russell B. Pierce, Jr. Edith K. Manns Portland, Maine Camden, Maine Lisa Pohlmann, PhD John McKee Jefferson, Maine Brunswick, Maine Kathy A. Remmel William G. Meserve Portland, Maine Winchester, Massachusetts Sarah B. Rheault Robert G. Mohlar Camden, Maine Readfield, Maine Field Rider Robert C.S. Monks New Gloucester. Maine Cape Elizabeth, Maine Edward S. Riggs **David Moskovitz** Albion, Maine Whitefield, Maine Marilyn Moss Rockefeller Gordon Mott Camden. Maine Lakeville, Maine Neil Rolde Stephen Mulkey, PhD York, Maine Gainesville, Florida Kate Rush Rondi Nelson Newport, Maine Mount Vernon, Maine **Betsy Saltonstall** Sally Oldham Rockport, Maine Portland, Maine Christa Schwintzer, PhD W. Kent Olson **Professor Emerita of Biology** Bass Harbor, Maine University of Maine at Orono Sarah A. Short Ray (Bucky) Owen Orono, Maine Portland, Maine

Wickham Skinner

Rebecca Stanley Monmouth, Maine

Saint George, Maine

Tony Owens, MD

C.W. Eliot Paine

Kirtland Hills, Ohio Seal Cove, Maine

Cape Elizabeth, Maine

Nat Thompson Scarborough, Maine

Thomas H. Tietenberg, PhD Mitchell Family Professor of Economics Emeritus Colby College

Waterville, Maine

Sharon Tisher Old Town, Maine

Daniel Tishman Bedford, New York Jefferson, Maine

Peter Troast South Freeport, Maine

Bronwen Tudor Georgetown, Maine

David E. Tudor Georgetown, Maine

Clinton B. Townsend Canaan, Maine

David Vail Brunswick, Maine

Charles O. Verrill, Jr. Islesboro, Maine

Edward Z. Walworth, MD Lewiston, Maine

**Nancy Warren** 

Fredericksburg, Virginia

Canaan, Maine

Steven Weems Brunswick, Maine

Thomas Wentzel Portland, Maine

Nathaniel T. Wheelwright Brunswick, Maine

Lissa Widoff Freedom, Maine

Margaret A. Wilson Brunswick, Maine

Lois Winter Portland, Maine

cc: Hon. Sally Jewell, Secretary of the Interior Department of the Interior 1849 C Street NW Washington, DC 20240

Hon. Jonathan Jarvis, Director National Park Service 1849 C Street NW Washington, DC 20240